The Art-Music, Literature and Linguistics Forum
July 13, 2024, 11:01:34 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts, Literature and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Dmitry Kabalevsky

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Dmitry Kabalevsky  (Read 613 times)
Level 4

Times thanked: 15
Offline Offline

Posts: 495

View Profile
« on: July 30, 2022, 07:12:56 am »

Dmitry Kabalevsky was born in St. Petersburg in 1904.

He left us four grand symphonies:

Symphony no. 1 in C sharp minor opus 18 (1932)
Symphony no. 2 in C minor opus 19 (1934)
Symphony no. 3, Requiem, opus 22, for chorus and orchestra (1933)
Symphony no. 4 in C minor, opus 54 (1956)

as well as two exquisite string quartets:


String quartet No. 1 in A minor, opus 8 (1928)

There are four movements:
 I. Andante - Allegro moderato
II. Vivace
III. Andantino
IV. Allegro assai.

and it was played by the Glazunov Quartet:


String quartet No. 2 in G minor, opus 44 (1945)

There are five movements:
I. Allegro molto ed energico
II. Andante non troppo
III. Scherzando leggiero (Quasi presto)
IV. Adagio molto sostenuto
V. L'Istesso Tempo - Vivace giocoso.

and it too was played by the Glazunov Quartet:


Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Toby Esterhase
Level 7

Times thanked: 117
Offline Offline

Posts: 1349

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2022, 04:24:20 am »

Kabalevski was one of the greatest Soviet composers for piano
Report Spam   Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy