The Art-Music, Literature and Linguistics Forum
December 09, 2023, 12:03:33 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts, Literature and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Erich Korngold

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Erich Korngold  (Read 108 times)
Level 4

Times thanked: 15
Offline Offline

Posts: 495

View Profile
« on: August 03, 2022, 06:36:54 am »

Erich Korngold was born in Brünn (now better known as Brno) in 1897.

He left us three very interesting and beautiful string quartets:


String quartet no. 1 in A major, opus 16 (1923)
There are four movements:

1: Allegro molto
2: Adagio quasi Fantasia
3: Intermezzo
4: Finale. Allegretto amabile e comodo

They were performed by the Doric Quartet:


String quartet no. 2 in E flat major, opus 26 (1933)

There are four movements:
I. Allegro
II. Intermezzo. Allegretto con moto - Molto piů mosso
III. Larghetto. Lento - Con molto sentimento
IV. Waltz. Tempo di Valse

They were performed by the Lyric Art Quartet


String quartet no. 3 in D major, opus 34 (1945)

There are four movements:
I. Allegro moderato
II. Scherzo. Allegro molto
III. Sostenuto, like a folk tune
IV. Finale.

They were performed by the Chilingarian quartet:


After preparing this video I found that my computer has a problem playing music from YouTube - it is so quiet that nothing can be heard. So I tried some non-YouTube files on my computer, and they played (via the VLC media player) at the normal loud volume. So the problem is confined to YouTube - and it seems to affect all items now at YouTube!

Nevertheless I will still post these Korngold quartets in case other people do not have the problem. And I will also investigate further.

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy