The Art-Music and Linguistics Forum
August 12, 2022, 06:02:20 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Ludewig Spohr

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Ludewig Spohr  (Read 189 times)
Level 4

Times thanked: 15
Offline Offline

Posts: 379

View Profile
« on: June 27, 2022, 01:50:51 am »

Spohr's sixth symphony is rather different, in that the first three movements take on the style of earlier periods. It is entitled "Historische Symphonie im Styl und Geschmack vier verschiedener Zeitabschnitte" - historical symphony in the style, and to the taste, of four diverse eras.

It appeared in 1839 as opus 116. There are four movements, marked:

1. Bach-Handel'sche Periode 1720: Largo Grave
2. Haydn-Mozart'sche Periode 1780: Larghetto
3. Beethoven'sche Periode 1810: Scherzo
4. Allerneueste Periode (very latest period) 1840: Allegro vivace

It was performed by Howard Shelley with the Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana.

Report Spam   Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy