The Art-Music, Literature and Linguistics Forum
December 04, 2022, 05:44:38 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts, Literature and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Karel Husa

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Karel Husa  (Read 33 times)
Level 4

Times thanked: 15
Offline Offline

Posts: 495

View Profile
« on: June 22, 2022, 06:24:14 am »

Karel Husa was born in Prague in 1921.

He gave us two grand symphonies as well as four noteworthy string quartets.


- First string quartet (1948). No performance is at present available.


- Second string quartet (1953). There are three movements:

Adagio - Allegro con fuoco
Lento assai
Adagio - Allegro con brio

It was performed by the Fine Arts Quartet:

Leonard Sorkin (violin)
Abran Loft (violin)
Bernard Zaslav (viola)
George Sopkin (cello)


- Third string quartet (1968). There are four movements:

Allegro moderato
Lento assai
Allegro possibile

Again it was performed by the Fine Arts Quartet:


- Fourth string quartet, "Poems" (1990); there are six movements, given six fanciful names.

It was performed by the "fama Q" quartet:

David Danel – violin
Roman Hranička – violin
Ondřej Martinovský – viola
Balázs Adorján – cello


Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy