The Art-Music and Linguistics Forum
August 18, 2022, 12:23:20 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Herbert Howells

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Herbert Howells  (Read 15 times)
Level 4

Times thanked: 15
Offline Offline

Posts: 405

View Profile
« on: June 19, 2022, 08:36:04 am »

Herbert Howells was born at Lydney in 1892.

Howells's mature style skilfully interweaves a number of strands. Of his formative influences, probably the most important were modal counterpoint, derived from Tudor models, Elgar in his elegiac aspects and Williams, whose Tallis Fantasia had a galvanising effect on the young composer, and whose Pastoral Symphony deeply influenced the string quartet "In Gloucestershire", the most substantial of Howells's instrumental works. To these must also be added the topography of his native Gloucestershire, and his love of English literature.

Most of his production appears to have been directed at children. He produced three compositions for string quartet.


Lady Audrey's Suite, opus 19 (string quartet no. 1) (1915)

There are four movements, given in four separate files:

I. The four Sleepy Golliwogs' Dance
II. The Little Girl and the Old Shepherd
III. Prayer-Time
IV. The Old Shepherd's Tale

They were performed by the Dante Quartet:


Fantasy String Quartet, opus 25 (string quartet no. 2) (1917)

It was performed by the Richards Ensemble:

Marilyn Taylor, violin
Nona Liddell, violin
Jean Stewart, viola
Bernard Richards, cello


String Quartet no. 3, "In Gloucestershire" (1920)

There are four movements, given in four separate files:

I. With easy and flexible movement
II. Fairly Quick, but Always Rhythmical
III. Slow in Pace, with Much Feeling
IV. Allegro vivace - Assai ritmico

The work was performed by the Dante Quartet:


Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy