The Art-Music and Linguistics Forum
June 30, 2022, 01:52:21 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Vítězslav Novák

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Vítězslav Novák  (Read 85 times)
Level 4

Times thanked: 14
Offline Offline

Posts: 276

View Profile
« on: May 17, 2022, 06:46:54 am »

Vítězslav Novák was born at Kamenice nad Lipou in 1870.

Here is his symphonic poem De Profundis, for large orchestra and organ, opus 67, which appeared in 1941.

Remarkable in its muscular counterpoint, it is one of the most potent artistic responses to political events to come from the region.

It comes in three sections:

I. Largo lugubre - Appassionato doloroso - Tempo del principio
II. Meno (largo), molto tranquillo
III. Grandioso

The B.B.C. Philharmonic Orchestra was directed by Libor Pešek.

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy