The Art-Music Forum
May 20, 2022, 07:02:55 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: A place to discover and discuss a wide range of composers and music (both familiar and forgotten), recordings, broadcasts, books and art. Register, contribute and explore!
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Ottmar Gerster

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Ottmar Gerster  (Read 9 times)
Level 3

Times thanked: 11
Offline Offline

Posts: 178

View Profile
« on: May 13, 2022, 06:45:42 am »

Ottmar Gerster was born in Braunfels, Hesse, in 1897.

He gave us three wonderful symphonies in the years 1934, 1953 and (with chorus) 1966.

There are also two string quartets, from the years 1921 and 1954.

Here is his second string quartet (1954).

It was played by the Leipzig Gewandhaus Quartet:

Gerhard Bosse - Violin 1
Karl Suske - Violin 2
Dietmar Hallmann - Viola
Friedemann Erben - Cello

There are four movements:

1. Vivace
2, Andante
3. Minuet - Allegretto
4. Finale - Allegro molto

and they come to us in two consecutive parts:

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy