The Art-Music Forum
May 20, 2022, 06:12:20 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: A place to discover and discuss a wide range of composers and music (both familiar and forgotten), recordings, broadcasts, books and art. Register, contribute and explore!
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

George Enescu

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: George Enescu  (Read 4 times)
Level 3

Times thanked: 11
Offline Offline

Posts: 178

View Profile
« on: May 12, 2022, 07:03:24 am »

George Enescu was born in Liveni VÓrnav, near Dorohoi, in 1881. He left us two string quartets.

The great series of chamber works which crowns Enescuís output begins with the Third Violin Sonata (1926), and includes the Piano Quintet (1940), Second Piano Quartet (1944), Second String Quartet (1951) and Chamber Symphony (1954). Enescu stays within the bounds of late-romantic tonality and classical forms but transmutes both into a very personal idiom; ceaseless motivic development is woven into elaborate adaptations of sonata form, variation-sequences and cyclic recombinations.

- String quartet no. 1, in E flat, opus 22/1 (1920)

There are four movements:

One: Allegro moderato
Two: Andante pensieroso
Three: Allegretto scherzando, non troppo vivace
Four: Allegretto moderato

It was performed by the Ad Libitum Quartet.

- String quartet no. 2, in G, opus 22/2 (1951)

There are four movements:

1. Molto moderato
2. Andante molto sostenuto ed espressivo
3. Allegretto non troppo mosso
4. Con moto - Molto moderato, energico

It was performed by the Ad Libitum Quartet.

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy