The Art-Music Forum
May 20, 2022, 05:23:28 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: A place to discover and discuss a wide range of composers and music (both familiar and forgotten), recordings, broadcasts, books and art. Register, contribute and explore!
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Ernő Dohnányi

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Ernő Dohnányi  (Read 8 times)
Level 3

Times thanked: 11
Offline Offline

Posts: 178

View Profile
« on: May 12, 2022, 06:04:13 am »

Ernő Dohnányi was born in Pozsony (now Bratislava) in 1877.

In 1956 he made a last appearance at the Edinburgh Festival, where his youthfulness astonished British audiences.

He gave us three string quartets:

- String quartet no. 1, opus 7, in A major (1899):

I: Allegro
II: Allegretto grazioso
III: Molto adagio con espressione
IV: Finale Vivace

It was played by the Fine Arts Quartet

- String quartet no. 2, opus 15, in D flat major (1906):

I. Andante-allegro
II. Presto acciaccato
III. Molto adagio-Animato-Adagio-Andante-Allegro

It was played by the Kodaly Quartet

- String quartet no. 3, opus 33, in A minor (1926):

I. Allegro agitato e appassionato
II. Andante religioso con variazioni
III. Vivace giocoso

It was played by

Madlen Breckbell, violin
Meredith Peacock, violin
Madison Johnson, viola
Matt Zucker, cello

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy