The Art-Music Forum
May 20, 2022, 07:09:37 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: A place to discover and discuss a wide range of composers and music (both familiar and forgotten), recordings, broadcasts, books and art. Register, contribute and explore!
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Anton Arensky

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Anton Arensky  (Read 21 times)
Level 3

Times thanked: 11
Offline Offline

Posts: 178

View Profile
« on: May 11, 2022, 06:08:53 am »

Anton Arensky was born at Novgorod in 1861. He left us two tuneful quartets:

- String quartet no. 1 in G major, opus 11 (1888). There are four movements:

1. Allegro
2. Andante sostenuto
3. Menuetto. Allegretto
4. Finale (Variations sur un thème russe). Allegro non troppo

It was performed by the Ying Quartet

- String quartet no. 2 in A minor, opus 35 (1894). It is very unorthodox in that there are two cellos and only one violin. There are three movements:

1. moderato
2. Variations on a theme of Tchaikovsky
3. Finale

It was performed by

Paul Rosenthal, violin
Matthias Maurer, viola
Nathaniel Rosen, cello
Godfried Hoogeveen, cello

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Level 3

Times thanked: 12
Offline Offline

Posts: 231

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2022, 07:07:04 pm »

The finale of the 2nd quartet is marked Andante sostenuto - Allegro moderato. The Allegro moderato theme is quite familiar if anybody knows the Coronation Scene from Mussorgsky's Boris Godunov.
Report Spam   Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy