The Art-Music, Literature and Linguistics Forum
April 15, 2024, 11:31:19 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts, Literature and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Otaka,Hisatada (1911-1951) - Cello Concerto (1943)

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Otaka,Hisatada (1911-1951) - Cello Concerto (1943)  (Read 155 times)
Jolly Roger
Level 8

Times thanked: 59
Offline Offline

Posts: 2014

View Profile
« on: March 16, 2021, 08:45:45 am »

Otaka,Hisatada  (1911-1951) -  Cello Concerto  (1943)
Violoncelliste : Ko Iwasaki,dir : Hiroshi Wakasugi
1- Allegro energico e passionato (13.56)
2- Lento cantabile con variazioni (11.24)
3- Adagio espressivo -- Allegro con brio (13.25)

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2021, 08:21:19 pm »

This is a most atttractive Cello Concerto and considering that it was composed some years after the Sinfonietta, it is actually more backward-looking (and I mean that as a compliment). It's unfailingly lyrical but sometimes with a rhythmic bite thart reminds me of Walton. I shall try to listen to it again as I'm sure repeated hearings will only serve to reinforce its quality.
Report Spam   Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy