The Art-Music, Literature and Linguistics Forum
November 30, 2022, 08:01:18 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Foerster: Symphonies 1-3, 5

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Foerster: Symphonies 1-3, 5  (Read 131 times)
« on: March 09, 2021, 08:06:08 pm »

Now available:

Josef Bohuslav Foerster

Symphony No. 1 in D minor, Op. 9 (1887-88)
      Adagio -- Allegro con brio
      Allegretto scherzando
      Allegro energico

Symphony No. 2 in F major, Op. 29 "In memoriam sororis Mariae" (1892-93)
      Allegro moderato
      Andante sostenuto
      Allegro con brio

Symphony No. 3 in D major, Op. 36 "Life" (1894-95)
      Andante sostenuto
      Allegro molto
      Finale: Allegro moderato

   Prague Radio Orchestra
   Ondřej Kukal, conductor

Symphony No. 5 in D Minor, Op. 141 "In memoriam fili" (1924-29)
      Moderato solenne -- Allegro ma non troppo
      Andante moderato -- Adagio religioso
      Moderato molto
   Brno State Philharmonic Orchestra
   František Jílek, conductor
Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2021, 09:53:08 pm »

Thank you so much, Maris. It really is very kind of you to locate and download those four symphonies.

Report Spam   Logged
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2021, 12:04:33 am »

You're welcome, Lionel. I hope you and others enjoy them!
Report Spam   Logged
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2021, 01:56:55 pm »

I have now had time to listen to the first two symphonies in depth and I have to say that I find them both delightful. Maybe the thematic material is not quite so memorable as that of some other Czech composers, but these symphonies are certainly attractive and beautifully crafted. And Foerster does seem to have an individual voice. Thanks once again, Maris.
Report Spam   Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy