The Art-Music, Literature and Linguistics Forum
February 03, 2023, 10:51:59 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts, Literature and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

United States Music

Pages: 1 ... 12 13 [14] 15   Go Down
Author Topic: United States Music  (Read 30831 times)
Level 5

Times thanked: 30
Offline Offline

Posts: 512

View Profile
« Reply #195 on: November 06, 2015, 07:14:50 pm »

Music of Gerard Schurmann

From the collection of Karl Miller

"It is impossible for a composer to bridge the widening gap between sophisticated creative processes of the day and the listener with integrity: the result of the most fervent desire to communicate can be put to the test only within oneself, measured against the yardstick of personal experience. Any deliberate attempt to work on the speculative basis of current market and fashion values is inevitably doomed, because such contrivances, being essentially self-deluding, remove the basic premise of the creative function. On a different level, it is a sobering thought that none of us will ever know whether we have made the right artistic decisions, since this will be determined long after we are gone. I believe in communication - but there must be individuality. In the chaos in which we live, a strong personal statement is in the end the only thing of any interest."

Intro (Composer Interview)

Concerto for Orchestra (Premiere)
Pittsburg Symphony Orchestra
Edo de Waart
[29/30/31 March 1996]

Piano Concerto (1973)
(with paraphrase of the Richard Rodney Benneett PIano Concerto, first movement)
Joaquin Achucawo, piano
BBC Symphony Orchestra

Variants for Orchestra (1971)
Northern SInfonia
Bryden Thomson

Six Studies after Bacon (1968)
Cleveland Orchestra
Lorin Maazel

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
(with occasional references to Ginastera Violin Concerto)
Ruggero Ricci, violin
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic
Sir Charles Groves
[26 September 1978]
Report Spam   Logged

All download links I have posted are for works, that, to  my knowledge, have never been commercially released in digital form.  Should you find I've been in error, please notify myself or an Administrator.  Please IM me if I've made any errors that require attention, as I may not read replies.

Pages: 1 ... 12 13 [14] 15   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy