The Art-Music, Literature and Linguistics Forum
December 09, 2023, 12:27:27 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts, Literature and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Title Matter

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Title Matter  (Read 35 times)
Level 8

Times thanked: 53
Offline Offline

Posts: 3394

View Profile
« on: September 09, 2023, 06:10:40 am »

John Innes Mackintosh Stewart was born in Edinburgh in 1906. He attended Edinburgh Academy from 1913 to 1924 and then Oriel College, Oxford.

His book "The Journeying Boy" appeared in 1949; it has twenty-seven chapters.

In all, he left us the following works of literature:

Novels, using the pen-name J. I. M. Stewart:
    Mark Lambert's Supper (1954)
    The Guardians (1955)
    A Use of Riches (1957)
    The Man Who Won the Pools (1961)
    The Last Tresilians (1963)
    An Acre of Grass (1965)
    The Aylwins (1966)
    Vanderlyn's Kingdom (1967)
    Avery's Mission (1971)
    A Palace of Art (1972)
    Mungo's Dream (1973)
    A Staircase in Surrey quintet:
        The Gaudy (1974)
        Young Patullo (1975)
        Memorial Service (1976)
        The Madonna of the Astrolabe (1977)
        Full Term (1978)
    Andrew and Tobias (1980)
    A Villa in France (1982)
    An Open Prison (1984)
    The Naylors (1985)

    Myself and Michael Innes: A Memoir (1987)

Novels, using the pen-name Michael Innes:
    Death at the President's Lodging (1936) (also known as Seven Suspects)
    Hamlet, Revenge! (1937)
    Lament for a Maker (1938)
    Stop Press (1939)
    The Secret Vanguard (1940)
    There Came Both Mist and Snow (1940) (also known as A Comedy of Terrors)
    Appleby on Ararat (1941)
    The Daffodil Affair (1942)
    The Weight of the Evidence (1943)
    Appleby's End (1945)
    What Happened at Hazelwood (1946)
    From London Far (1946) (also known as The Unsuspected Chasm)
    A Night of Errors (1947)
    The Journeying Boy (1949)
    Operation Pax (1951) (also known as The Paper Thunderbolt)
    A Private View (1952) (also known as One-Man Show and Murder Is an Art)
    Christmas at Candleshoe (1953)
    The Man from the Sea (1955) (also known as Death by Moonlight)
    Old Hall, New Hall (1956) (also known as A Question of Queens)
    Appleby Plays Chicken (1957) (also known as Death on a Quiet Day)
    The Long Farewell (1958)
    Hare Sitting Up (1959)
    The New Sonia Wayward (1960)
    Silence Observed (1961)
    A Connoisseur's Case (1962) (also known as The Crabtree Affair)
    Money from Holme (1964)
    A Change of Heir (1966)
    The Bloody Wood (1966)
    Appleby at Allington (1968) (also known as Death by Water)
    A Family Affair (1969) (also known as Picture of Guilt)
    Death at the Chase (1970)
    An Awkward Lie (1971)
    The Open House (1972)
    Appleby's Answer (1973)
    Appleby's Other Story (1974)
    The Mysterious Commission (1974)
    The Gay Phoenix (1976)
    Honeybath's Haven (1977)
    The Ampersand Papers (1978)
    Going It Alone (1980)
    Lord Mullion's Secret (1981)
    Sheiks and Adders (1982)
    Appleby and Honeybath (1983)
    Carson's Conspiracy (1984)
    Appleby and the Ospreys (1986)

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy