The Art-Music, Literature and Linguistics Forum
May 19, 2024, 10:22:01 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts, Literature and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Title Matter

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Title Matter  (Read 56 times)
Level 8

Times thanked: 53
Offline Offline

Posts: 4309

View Profile
« on: June 16, 2023, 09:32:46 am »

Dora Amy Elles was born in the Indian hill station of Mussoorie, and educated in London at Blackheath High School for girls.

In her work she used the pen-name Patricia Wentworth. She gave us sixty-six books, thirty-two of which are detective novels.

Her novel "The Watersplash" has forty-four chapters.

Here is a list of her production:
    Grey Mask, 1928
    Fool Errant, 1929
    Danger Calling, 1931
    Walk with Care, 1933
    Dead or Alive, 1936
    Down Under, 1937
    The Case Is Closed, 1937
    Lonesome Road, 1939
    The Blind Side, 1939
    Rolling Stone, 1940
    Who Pays the Piper?, 1940
    Danger Point, 1941
    Pursuit of a Parcel, 1942
    The Chinese Shawl, 1943
    Miss Silver Intervenes, 1943
    The Clock Strikes Twelve, 1944
    The Key, 1944
    The Traveller Returns, 1945
    Pilgrim's Rest (or: Dark Threat), 1946
    Latter End, 1947
    Spotlight, 1947
    The Case of William Smith, 1948
    Eternity Ring, 1948
    The Catherine Wheel, 1949
    Miss Silver Comes to Stay, 1949
    The Brading Collection (or: Mr. Brading's Collection), 1950
    The Ivory Dagger, 1951
    Through the Wall, 1950
    Anna, Where Are You? (or: Death At Deep End), 1951
    Ladies' Bane, 1952
    Out of the Past, 1953
    The Silent Pool, 1954
    Vanishing Point, 1953
    The Benevent Treasure, 1953
    The Watersplash, 1954
    The Gazebo (or: The Summerhouse), 1955
    The Listening Eye, 1955
    Poison in the Pen, 1955
    The Fingerprint, 1956
    The Alington Inheritance, 1958
    The Girl in the Cellar, 1961

    A Marriage under the Terror, 1910
    A Child's Rhyme Book, 1910
    A Little More Than Kin (or: More Than Kin), 1911
    The Devil's Wind, 1912
    The Fire Within, 1913
    Simon Heriot, 1914
    Queen Anne Is Dead, 1915
    Earl or Chieftain?, 1919
    The Astonishing Adventure of Jane Smith, 1923
    The Red Lacquer Case, 1924
    The Annam Jewel, 1924
    The Black Cabinet, 1925
    The Dower House Mystery, 1925
    The Amazing Chance, 1926
    Hue and Cry, 1927
    Anne Belinda, 1927
    Will-o'-the-Wisp, 1928
    Beggar's Choice, 1930
    The Coldstone, 1930
    Kingdom Lost, 1931
    Nothing Venture, 1932
    What Became of Anne, 1932
    Red Danger, 1932
    Seven Green Stones, 1933
    Devil-in-the-Dark, 1934
    Fear by Night, 1934
    Red Stefan, 1935
    Blindfold, 1935
    Hole and Corner, 1936
    Mr. Zero, 1938
    Afraid to Love, 1938
    Run!, 1938
    Unlawful Occasions, 1941
    Beneath the Hunter's Moon, Poems, 1945
    Silence in Court, 1947
Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy