The Art-Music, Literature and Linguistics Forum
February 23, 2024, 05:34:06 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts, Literature and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Title Matter

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Title Matter  (Read 37 times)
Level 8

Times thanked: 53
Offline Offline

Posts: 3914

View Profile
« on: May 26, 2023, 07:53:14 am »

Joseph Smith Fletcher was born in Halifax in 1863, and educated at Silcoates School in Wakefield. He gave us more than a hundred detective novels.

The present book has twenty-seven chapters:
1.     The Man who asked his Way
2.     The Second Man
3.     The Captain and the Sergeant
4.     Sub Judice
5.     Name of Kest
6.     Under Examination
7.     The Clamped Chest
8.     Complex
9.     The Ditty-Box
10.   The Hill-side---Midnight
11.   The Lock-Up Shed
12.   The Dead Man's Safe
13.   Suspect
14.   The Man who Bought Food
15.   Black Mill Bottom
16.   Macpherson
17.   The China Seas
18.   Ditty-Box and 'Bacca-Box
19.   Detective-Sergeant Parkapple
20.   The Thatched Roof
21.   Recognition
22.   The Light in the Mill
23.   The Registered Packet
24.   The Uncut Diamond
25.   The Package of Cocoa
26.   The Silk Neckerchief
27.   The Billiard Room

List of some of his novels:
    Frank Carisbroke's Stratagem (1888)
    Andrewlina (1889)
    Mr. Spivey's Clerk (1890)
    When Charles the First Was King (1892)
    In the Days of Drake (1895)
    Where Highways Cross (1895)
    Mistress Spitfire (1896)
    Baden Powell of Mafeking (1900)
    Lucian the Dreamer (1903)
    Perris of the Cherry-Trees (1913)
    The King versus Wargrave (1915)
    The Rayner-Slade Amalgamation (1917)
    Paul Campenhaye (1918)
    The Chestermarke Instinct (1918)
    The Borough Treasurer (1919)
    The Middle Temple Murder (1919)
    The Talleyrand Maxim (1919)
    Scarhaven Keep (1920)
    The Herapath Property (1920)
    The Lost Mr. Linthwaite (1920)
    The Orange-Yellow Diamond (1920)
    The Markenmore Mystery (1921)
    The Root of All Evil (1921)
    Wrychester Paradise (1921)
    In the Mayor's Parlour (1922)
    Ravensdene Court (1922)
    The Middle of Things (1922)
    The Million Dollar Diamond (1923)
    The Charing Cross Mystery (1923)
    The Mazaroff Murder (1923)
    The Kang-He Vase (1924)
    The Safety Pin (1924)
    Sea Fog (1925)
    The Bedford Row Mystery (1925)
    The Cartwright Gardens Murder (1925)
    The Mill of Many Windows (1925)
    The Passenger to Folkestone (1927)
    Dead Men's Money (1928)
    The Ransom for London (1929)
    Murder at Wrides Park (1931)
    Murder in Four Degrees (1931)
    Murder of the Ninth Baronet (1932)
    Murder in the Squire's Pew (1932)
    The Borgia Cabinet (1932)
    The Solution of a Mystery (1932)

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy