The Art-Music, Literature and Linguistics Forum

Assorted items => String quartets => Topic started by: greek on July 30, 2022, 07:12:56 am

Title: Dmitry Kabalevsky
Post by: greek on July 30, 2022, 07:12:56 am
Dmitry Kabalevsky was born in St. Petersburg in 1904.

He left us four grand symphonies:

Symphony no. 1 in C sharp minor opus 18 (1932)
Symphony no. 2 in C minor opus 19 (1934)
Symphony no. 3, Requiem, opus 22, for chorus and orchestra (1933)
Symphony no. 4 in C minor, opus 54 (1956)

as well as two exquisite string quartets:


String quartet No. 1 in A minor, opus 8 (1928)

There are four movements:
 I. Andante - Allegro moderato
II. Vivace
III. Andantino
IV. Allegro assai.

and it was played by the Glazunov Quartet: (


String quartet No. 2 in G minor, opus 44 (1945)

There are five movements:
I. Allegro molto ed energico
II. Andante non troppo
III. Scherzando leggiero (Quasi presto)
IV. Adagio molto sostenuto
V. L'Istesso Tempo - Vivace giocoso.

and it too was played by the Glazunov Quartet: (


Title: Re: Dmitry Kabalevsky
Post by: Toby Esterhase on August 13, 2022, 04:24:20 am
Kabalevski was one of the greatest Soviet composers for piano