The Art-Music and Linguistics Forum

Various types of music => String quartets => Topic started by: greek on June 14, 2022, 11:39:07 am

Title: Jean Huré
Post by: greek on June 14, 2022, 11:39:07 am
Jean Huré was born in Gien in 1877.

He gave us three grand symphonies and two string quartets.

The First String Quartet is cyclic; the outer movements share homophonic textures and ostinato patterns. By contrast, the middle movement is chromatic and contrapuntal. The Second String Quartet is overtly modal and folk-like in character. The rhythmic incisiveness, repetition, narrow range and ubiquitous perfect fourths are reminiscent of early Stravinsky.


- String quartet no. 1, in C minor (1917).

There are three movements, given in three separate files:

I. Allegro con duolo e morbidezza
II. Andante
III. Allegro giocoso ( ( (


- String quartet no. 2 (1921)

There are three movements. (