The Art-Music, Literature and Linguistics Forum
April 13, 2024, 01:13:21 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts, Literature and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Title Matter

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Title Matter  (Read 45 times)
Level 8

Times thanked: 53
Offline Offline

Posts: 4165

View Profile
« on: April 04, 2023, 07:15:29 am »

Cecil Louis Troughton Smith was born in Cairo in 1899, but educated in London at Alleyn's School and Dulwich College.

As a writer he used the pen name Cecil Scott ("C. S.") Forester.

His crime novel "Payment Deferred" is set in South London, and came out in 1926. It has sixteen chapters.

Here is a list of his novels:

Horatio Hornblower:
    1950 Mr. Midshipman Hornblower.
    1941 "The Hand of Destiny"
    1950 "Hornblower and the Widow McCool"
    1952 Lieutenant Hornblower
    1962 Hornblower and the Hotspur
    1953 Hornblower and the Atropos
    1937 The Happy Return
    1938 A Ship of the Line
    1941 "Hornblower's Charitable Offering"
    1938 Flying Colours
    1941 "Hornblower and His Majesty"
    1945 The Commodore
    1946 Lord Hornblower
    1958 Hornblower in the West Indies

Other novels:
    1924 A Pawn among Kings
    1924 The Paid Piper
    1926 Payment Deferred
    1927 Love Lies Dreaming
    1927 The Wonderful Week
    1928 The Daughter of the Hawk
    1929 Brown on Resolution
    1930 Plain Murder
    1931 Two-and-Twenty
    1932 Death to the French
    1933 The Gun
    1934 The Peacemaker
    1935 The African Queen
    1935 The Pursued
    1936 The General
    1940 The Earthly Paradise
    1941 The Captain from Connecticut
    1942 Poo-Poo and the Dragons
    1943 The Ship
    1948 The Sky and the Forest
    1951 Randall and the River of Time
    1955 The Good Shepherd

    1967 Long before Forty (autobiographical)

« Last Edit: February 14, 2024, 04:56:23 am by Admin » Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy