The Art-Music, Literature and Linguistics Forum
March 04, 2024, 02:26:29 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts, Literature and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Title Matter

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Title Matter  (Read 21 times)
Level 8

Times thanked: 53
Offline Offline

Posts: 3968

View Profile
« on: December 31, 2022, 07:34:52 am »

John Davys Beresford was probably born in the village of Castor (near Peterborough) in 1873.

He was educated at Oundle School in Northamptonshire.

This book has seventeen chapters, with an Interlude and an Epilogue:

My Early Association with Ginger Stott

I.    The Motive
II.    Notes for a Biography of Ginger Stott
III.    The Disillusionment of Ginger Stott

The Childhood of the Wonder

IV.    The Manner of his Birth
V.    His Departure from Stoke-Underhill
VI.    His Father's Desertion
VII.    His Debt to Henry Challis
VIII.  His First Visit to Challis Court


PART II (continued)
The Wonder among Books

IX.    His Passage through the Prison of Knowledge
X.    His Pastors and Masters
XI.    His Examination
XII.    Fugitive

My Association with the Wonder

XIII.  How I went to Pym to Write a Book
XIV.    The Incipience of my Subjection to the Wonder
XV.    The Progess and Relaxation of my Subjection
XVI.  Release
XVII. Implications

The Uses of Mystery

List of Beresford's productions:

    The Early History of Jacob Stahl (1911)
    The Hampdenshire Wonder (1911) Novel
    A Candidate for Truth (1912)
    Goslings: A World of Women (1913) Novel
    The House in Demetrius Road (1914) Novel
    The Invisible Event (1915) Novel
    H.G. Wells (1915) criticism
    These Lynneskers (1916) Novel
    William Elphinstone Ford (1917) biography, with Kenneth Richmond
    House Mates (1917) Novel
    Nineteen Impressions (1918) stories
    God's Counterpoint (1918) Novel
    The Jervaise Comedy (1919) Novel
    The Imperfect Mother (1920) Novel
    Signs and Wonders (1921) stories
    Revolution (1921) Novel
    The Prisoners of Hartling (1922) Novel
    The Imperturbable Duchess and Other Stories (1923)
    Monkey Puzzle (1925)
    That Kind of Man, or Almost Pagan (1926) Novel
    The Decoy (1927) Novel
    The Instrument of Destiny (1928) mystery novel
    All or Nothing (1928) Novel
    Real People (1929) Novel
    The Meeting Place and Other Stories (1929)
    Love's Illusion (1930)
    The Next Generation (1932) Novel
    The Old People (1932) Novel
    The Camberwell Miracle (1933) novel
    Peckover (1934) Novel
    On a Huge Hill (1935) Novel
    Blackthorn Winter and other stories (1936)
    Cleo (1937) Novel
    What Dreams May Come (1941) Novel
    A Common Enemy (1941) Novel
    Men in the Same Boat (1943) (with Esmé Wynne-Tyson)
    The Riddle of the Tower (1944) (with Esmé Wynne-Tyson)
    The Gift (1947) (with Esmé Wynne-Tyson)
    The Prisoner
    Love's Pilgrim
    The Tapestry

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy