The Art-Music Forum
December 03, 2020, 11:21:38 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare (non-copyright) recordings, and discuss all the Arts in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight. To participate, simply log in or register.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Two neglected Dutchmen

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Two neglected Dutchmen  (Read 313 times)
« on: September 06, 2012, 02:21:23 am »

1. Julius Röntgen (1855-1932).
    Three Preludes and fugues.
    Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz under David Porcelijn.

2. Jan van Gilse (1881-1944).
    Symphony number two in E flat.
    Netherlands Symphony Orchestra under David Porcelijn.

Actually the broadcast has already happened. But details of how to retrieve it are given here:,404.0.html

I downloaded it just now and the process took just five minutes on my (unexceptional) machine.

What a brave man van Gilse was!

Quote from: Grove's Dictionary
After the Germans invaded the Netherlands in May 1940, van Gilse publicly opposed the banning of Jews from concert halls. After organizing a petition in protest against the Nazification of Dutch artistic life, he was accused of high treason and went into hiding. During this period his two sons, also active in the resistance movement, were killed by the Nazis. Van Gilse could not cope with his grief and died after a short illness.

Van Gilse took a relatively long time to develop a personal style as a composer. His German training, and the music of Mahler especially, left its mark on his early works up to 1916. Those written during and shortly after his years in Utrecht (1917–22) testify to his intensive study of the works of French composers such as Debussy, Ravel and Roussel, particularly in their use of short motifs, augmented chords, parallel harmonies and their striving after colourful, transparent orchestration. From these German and French influences, a synthesis gradually developed, culminating in the cantata Der Kreis des Lebens (1928–9), the opera Thijl (1938–40) and the unfinished declamation Rotterdam (1942). In these three works van Gilse achieved an individual style, which rejects the anti-Romanticism of the French-style works.

This second symphony (of four) is an early work, dating from 1903.

Does any one have any information about the Röntgen Preludes and Fugues? They are not mentioned in Grove's.
Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Level 3

Times thanked: 4
Offline Offline

Posts: 107

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2012, 02:35:34 pm »

Another tip on how to download from ConcertZender is to use Download Helper:

All you do is just right click on the icon in Firefox, select the file from the Media dropdown box, and you're done! That's if you don't want to go through all the steps of using VLC. I have been downloading concerts from ConcertZender (and elsewhere) for a long time with no problems with this handy little tool. Firefox only, though, as far a I know.
Report Spam   Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy