The Art-Music, Literature and Linguistics Forum
February 23, 2024, 05:02:31 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts, Literature and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Skalkottas - violin concerto

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Skalkottas - violin concerto  (Read 69 times)
Level 4

Times thanked: 15
Offline Offline

Posts: 495

View Profile
« on: June 21, 2022, 08:29:17 am »

Nikos Skalkottas was born at Chalcis in 1904.

His violin concerto appeared in 1938.

There are three movements:

1. Molto appassionato
2. Andante con spirito
3. Allegro vivo vivacissimo - Prestissimo

It was played here by Georgios Demertzis (violin) with the Malmö Symphony Orchestra conducted by Nikos Christodoulou:

It reminds us a little of Berg's does it not?

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy