The Art-Music Forum
June 16, 2019, 08:15:26 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare (non-copyright) recordings, and discuss all the Arts in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight. To participate, simply log in or register.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Jani Christou - his two symphonies

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Jani Christou - his two symphonies  (Read 53 times)
« on: September 30, 2018, 07:53:51 am »

Symphony 1 - this sounds rather like Vaughan Williams:

Symphony 2 (in three movements) This may give pleasure to the modernists:
First movement:

Second movement:

Third movement:

You-Tube is a reputable long-established trans-Atlantic organisation, and we may have confidence in the integrity of its content and procedures.

Having said that, I never copy content from You-Tube and post it here. I do, in good faith, post links to content at You-Tube that, because of its rarity, may interest our members. I claim responsibility only for my links, and not for any material elsewhere to which they may  point. Items hosted at You-Tube are of course utterly beyond our control.

If there is any one who wants my mere links to be removed, he should contact me, stating a) the reason and b) the manner in which he is authorised. If these two conditions are in order I will naturally comply with a request. The only objection I can think of to a link might be that it points to an insufficiently rarely heard composition.

Report Spam   Logged

Level 2

Times thanked: 16
Offline Offline

Posts: 66

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2018, 08:33:11 pm »

I look forward to hearing these.The only pieces I know by Christou are much later and very modernist, even experimental. The idea that he started life as a quite conservative composer is fascinating. He had, after all, only a few years to make this transformation. There has certainly been interest in his later work quite recently, from conductor Ilan Volkov (always a ready source of ideas and foraging of interesting music) and others.
Report Spam   Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Buy traffic for your forum/website
Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy