The Art-Music Forum
September 22, 2020, 09:28:30 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare (non-copyright) recordings, and discuss all the Arts in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight. To participate, simply log in or register.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

German Orchestras and their Principal Conductors (Part 1)

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: German Orchestras and their Principal Conductors (Part 1)  (Read 44 times)
Level 8

Times thanked: 135
Offline Offline

Posts: 4286

View Profile WWW
« on: October 11, 2015, 11:45:03 pm »

No. 13 of series

Bamberg Symphony Orchestra (1946; and Bavarian State Philharmonic Orchestra from 1993):   

Joseph Keilberth:         1949-1968
Eugen Jochum:            1969-1973
James Loughran:         1979-1983
Witold Rowicki:             1983-1985
Horst Stein:                   1985-1996
Jonathan Nott:              2000-2016
Jakub Hrusa:                 2016-

Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra(1949):

Eugen Jochum:         1949-1960
Rafael Kubelik:          1961-1979
Sir Colin Davis:          1983-1992
Lorin Maazel:             1993-2002
Mariss Jansons:        2003-

Bavarian State Opera:         

Bruno Walter:                      1913-1922
Hans Knappertsbusch:      1922-1935
Clemens Krauss:                 1937-1944
Hans Knappertsbusch:       1945
Sir George Solti:                   1946-1952
Rudolf Kempe:                      1952-1954
Ferenc Fricsay:                    1956-1958
Joseph Keilberth:                1959-1968
Wolfgang Sawallisch:         1971-1992
Peter Schneider:                 1993-1998
Zubin Mehta:                       1998-2006
Kent Nagano:                      2006-2013
Kirill Petrenko:                    2013-

Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra(1882):   

Arthur Nikisch:                   1895-1922
Wilhelm Furtwangler:      1922-1934
Leo Borchard:                   1945
Sergiu Celibidache:         1945-1952
Wihelm Furtwangler:      1952-1954
Herbert von Karajan:      1955-1989
Claudio Abbado:              1989-2000
Sir Simon Rattle:              2002-2018
Kirill Petrenko:                 2018-

Deutsches Symphony Orchestra (RIAS Symphony Orchestra from 1946 until 1956; (West) Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra from 1956 until 1993):   

Ferenc Fricsay:         1948-1954
Ferenc Fricsay:         1959-1963
Lorin Maazel:             1964-1975
Erich Leinsdorf:         1978-1980
Riccardo Chailly:       1982-1989
Vladimir Ashkenazy:1989-1999
Kent Nagano:             2000-2006
Ingo Metzmacher:   2007-2010
Tugan Sokhiev:         2012-2016
Robin Ticciati:           2017-

Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra (1923; (East) Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra until 1990):   

Bruno Seidler-Winkler:      1925-1932
Eugen Jochum:                   1932-1934
Sergiu Celibdache:            1945-1946
Artur Rother:                      1946-1949
Hermann Abendroth:       1953-1956
Rolf Kleinert:                      1959-1973
Heinz Rogner:                    1973-1993
Rafael Fruhbeck de Burgos:1994-2000
Marek Janowski:               2002-2016
Vladimir Jurowski:            2016-

Berlin Staatskapelle and State Opera:         

Richard Strauss:               1898-1918
Wilhelm Furtwangler:      1920-1922
Erich Kleiber:                    1923-1934
Herbert von Karajan:      1938-1945
Joseph Keilberth:            1948-1951
Erich Kleiber:                    1951-1955
Franz Konwitschny:        1955-1962
Otmar Suitner:                 1964-1971
Otmar Suitner:                 1974-1990
Daniel Barenboim:          1992-   

Berlin Symphony Orchestra
(1952, East Berlin; Konzerthausorchester, Berlin from 2006) :      

Hermann Hildebrandt:        1952-1959
Kurt Sanderling:                    1960-1977
Gunther Herbig:                    1977-1984
Claus-Peter Flor:                  1984-1989
Alun Francis:                         1989-1992
Michael Schonwandt:          1992-1998
Eliahu Inbal:                          2001-2006
Lothar Zagrosek:                 2006-2011
Ivan Fischer:                        2012-

(NB there is also an orchestra known as the Berlin Symphony Orchestra-current Principal Conductor:Lior Shambadal. It was founded in 1967 through the merger of two orchestras, one of which was also known as the Berlin Symphony Orchestra. The confusion comes through the translation of German into English. The original orchestra was the Berliner Symphonisches Orchester (1949-1967), the new orchestra the Symphonisches Orchester Berlin (1967-1990). The present orchestra is the Berliner Symphoniker.
Actually, come to think of it......this is just as confusing in German as in English!!)

Deutsches Opera, Berlin:      

Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt:1942-1945
Heinrich Hollreiser:           1961-1964
Lorin Maazel:                      1965-1971
Gerd Albrecht:                    1972-1977
Jesus Lopez-Cobos:          1981-1990
Giuseppe Sinopoli:             1990-1992
Rafael Fruhbeck de Burgos:1992-1997
Christian Thielemann:         1997-2004
Renato Palumbo:                  2006-2009
Donald Runnicles:                 2009-

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy