The Art-Music Forum
September 20, 2020, 02:11:41 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare (non-copyright) recordings, and discuss all the Arts in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight. To participate, simply log in or register.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Canadian Orchestras and their Principal Conductors

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Canadian Orchestras and their Principal Conductors  (Read 47 times)
Level 8

Times thanked: 135
Offline Offline

Posts: 4286

View Profile WWW
« on: October 08, 2015, 12:30:24 am »

No. 11 of series.

Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra(1955):

Henry Plukker:                 1955-1962
Haymo Taeuber:              1963-1968
Jose Iturbi:                       1968-1969
Maurice Handford:          1970-1975
Arpad Joo:                        1977-1984
Mario Bernardi:               1984-1992
Hans Graf:                        1995-2003
Roberto Minczuk:            2006-

Edmonton Symphony Orchestra(1952):

Lee Hepner:                    1952-1960
Brian Priestman:            1964-1968
Lawrence Leonard:        1968-1973
Pierre Hetu:                     1973-1979
Uri Mayer:                        1981-1994
Grzegorz Nowak:            1994-2002
William Eddins:               2005-

Montreal Symphony Orchestra(1934):   

Wilfrid Pelletier:           1935-1940
Desire Defauw:            1941-1952
Igor Markevitch:          1957-1961
Zubin Mehta:                1961-1967
Franz-Paul Decker:     1967-1975
Rafael Fruhbeck de Burgos:1975-1976
Charles Dutoit:            1977-2002
Kent Nagano:               2006-

Toronto Symphony Orchestra(1922 as New Symphony Orchestra; 1927 as Toronto Symphony Orchestra):   

Luigi von Kunits:          1922-1931
Sir Ernest Macmillan:  1931-1956
Walter Susskind:          1956-1965
Seiji Ozawa:                  1965-1969
Karel Ancerl:                 1969-1973
Victor Feldbrill:             1973-1978
Sir Andrew Davis:        1975-1988
Gunther Herbig:           1988-1994
Jukka-Pekka Saraste:1994-2001
Peter Oundjian:          2004-

Vancouver Symphony Orchestra(1919):   

Allard de Ridder:          1930-1941
Jacques Singer:           1947-1950
Irwin Hoffman:             1952-1963
Meredith Davies:         1964-1970
Kasuyoshi Akiyama:   1972-1985
Rudolf Barshai:            1985-1988
Sergiu Comissiona:    1991-2000
Bramwell Tovey:        2000-2018

Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra(1947):

Walter Kaufmann:                 1948-1958
Victor Feldbrill:                      1958-1968
George Cleve:                        1969-1970
Piero Gamba:                         1971-1980
Kazuhiro Koizumi:                 1982-1988
Bramwell Tovey:                   1989-2001
Andrey Boeyko:                    2001-2006
Alexander Micelthwaite:     2006-

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy