The Art-Music Forum
February 28, 2020, 08:26:21 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare (non-copyright) recordings, and discuss all the Arts in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight. To participate, simply log in or register.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

French Orchestras and their Principal Conductors

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: French Orchestras and their Principal Conductors  (Read 61 times)
Level 8

Times thanked: 134
Offline Offline

Posts: 4286

View Profile WWW
« on: October 08, 2015, 12:23:28 am »

No. 10 of series.

Orchestre National de France(1934; Orchestre National de la Radiodiffusion Francaise from 1945 until 1949, Orchestre National de la Radio-television Francaise from
         1949 until 1964; Orchestre National de l'ORTF from 1964 until 1974):   

Desire-Emile Inghelbrecht:1934-1944
Manuel Rosenthal:         1944-1947
Roger Desormiere:       1947-1952
Maurice Le Roux:          1960-1967
Jean Martinon:              1968-1973
Sergiu Celibidache:      1973-1975
Lorin Maazel:                 1977-1990
Charles Dutoit:              1991-2001
Kurt Masur:                    2002-2008
Danielle Gatti:               2008-

French Radio Philharmonic Orchestra

Eugene Bigot:           1949-1965
Charles Bruck:          1965-1970
Gilbert Amy:              1976-1981
Marek Janowski         1984-2000
Myung-Whun Chung:2000-2015
Mikko Franck:            2015-

Orchestre National Bordeaux Aquitaine
(Bordeaux Philharmonic Orchestra until 1963; Bordeaux Symphony Orchestra until 1972):

Georges Carrere:         1945-1963
Jacques Pernoo:          1963-1972
Roberto Benzi:            1972-1987
Alain Lombard:           1988-1995
John Neschling:          1996-1998
Hans Graf:                   1998-2004
Christian Lauba:         2004-2006
Kwame Ryan:             2007-2013
Paul Daniel:                2013-      

Lyon National Orchestra(1983):   

Louis Fremaux:            1969-1971
Serge Baudo:                1971-1986
Emmanuel Krivine:      1987-2000
David Robertson:         2000-2004
Jun Markl:                      2005-2011
Leonard Slatkin:           2011-

Lyon National Opera:         

Sir John Elliott Gardiner:1983-1988
Kent Nagano:           1988-1998
Louis Langree:         1998-2000
Ivan Fischer:            2000-2003
Kazushi Ono:            2008-

Paris Orchestra(1967):            

Charles Munch:              1967-1968
Sir George Solti:             1972-1975
Daniel Barenboim:         1975-1989
Semyon Bychkov:         1989-1998
Christoph Eschenbach:2000-2010
Paavo Jarvi:                   2010-2016
Daniel Harding:              2016-

Paris Opera:            

Myung-Whun Chung:1989-1994
James Conlon:           1995-2004
Philippe Jordan:         2009-

Strasbourg Philharmonic Orchestra

Joseph Guy Ropartz:1919-1929
Paul Paray:               1929-1940
Hans Rosbaud:         1940-1945
Paul Bastide:            1945-1950
Ernest Bour:              1950-1964
Alceo Galliera:          1964-1971
Alain Lombard:         1971-1983
Theodor Guschlbauer:1983-1997
Jan Latham-Koenig:1997-2003
Marc Albrecht:          2008-2011
Marko Letonja:         2012-

Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse:      

Andre Cluytens:         1932-1935
Georges Pretre:         1951-1955
Michel Plasson:          1968-2003
Tugan Sokhiev:          2008-

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Level 3

Times thanked: 6
Offline Offline

Posts: 186

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2015, 02:14:42 pm »

In Bordeaux Paul.....Harding is Paul Daniel.
Celibidache was really principal in the early '70 of the "Orchestre National de France" which was then "orchestre de l'ORTF"?
Report Spam   Logged
Level 8

Times thanked: 134
Offline Offline

Posts: 4286

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2015, 07:56:20 pm »

In Bordeaux Paul.....Harding is Paul Daniel.
Celibidache was really principal in the early '70 of the "Orchestre National de France" which was then "orchestre de l'ORTF"?

Thank you for this Smiley

Paul Daniel is indeed the Principal Conductor in Bordeaux. My mistake was in transliteration and I have made the correction.

The Orchestre National de France has indeed gone through a number of changes of name and was, as you correctly point out, the Orchestra of French Radio and Television
(Orchestre National de la RTF from 1949 until 1964 and Orchestre National de l'ORTF from 1964 until 1974). Celibidache was appointed in 1973 as "premier chef invite" and I interpreted that as more akin to "principal guest conductor" rather than "principal conductor".
Report Spam   Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy