The Art-Music Forum
February 29, 2020, 09:23:09 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare (non-copyright) recordings, and discuss all the Arts in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight. To participate, simply log in or register.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Maxwell Davies Piano Concerto and Worldes Blis from Naxos

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Maxwell Davies Piano Concerto and Worldes Blis from Naxos  (Read 71 times)
« on: November 30, 2012, 08:08:10 pm »

Another volume in Naxos' rapidly-growing series of reissues of the now-OOP Collins Classics recordings of PMD's orchestral works will include his Piano Concerto and the Symphonic Motet "Worldes Blis" Smiley. The performers are Kathryn Stott at the piano and the RPO under direction of the composer. See here:

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Level 3

Times thanked: 4
Offline Offline

Posts: 107

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2012, 08:54:16 pm »

Both pieces are amazing works by this composer. Worldes Blis unfortunately has the distinction of being booed at its premiere at the Proms in the late 60s. I think it's a wonderful long slow movement in PMD's catalogue. The Piano Concerto is a lot of fun. I might pick this up just for completion's sake, despite having the Collins releases.
Report Spam   Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy