The Art-Music, Literature and Linguistics Forum

Our Library => C. S. Forester - Payment Deferred (1926) => Topic started by: Admin on April 04, 2023, 07:15:29 am

Title: Title Matter
Post by: Admin on April 04, 2023, 07:15:29 am
Cecil Louis Troughton Smith was born in Cairo in 1899, but educated in London at Alleyn's School and Dulwich College.

As a writer he used the pen name Cecil Scott ("C. S.") Forester.

His crime novel "Payment Deferred" is set in South London, and came out in 1926. It has sixteen chapters.

Here is a list of his novels:

Horatio Hornblower:
    1950 Mr. Midshipman Hornblower.
    1941 "The Hand of Destiny"
    1950 "Hornblower and the Widow McCool"
    1952 Lieutenant Hornblower
    1962 Hornblower and the Hotspur
    1953 Hornblower and the Atropos
    1937 The Happy Return
    1938 A Ship of the Line
    1941 "Hornblower's Charitable Offering"
    1938 Flying Colours
    1941 "Hornblower and His Majesty"
    1945 The Commodore
    1946 Lord Hornblower
    1958 Hornblower in the West Indies

Other novels:
    1924 A Pawn among Kings
    1924 The Paid Piper
    1926 Payment Deferred
    1927 Love Lies Dreaming
    1927 The Wonderful Week
    1928 The Daughter of the Hawk
    1929 Brown on Resolution
    1930 Plain Murder
    1931 Two-and-Twenty
    1932 Death to the French
    1933 The Gun
    1934 The Peacemaker
    1935 The African Queen
    1935 The Pursued
    1936 The General
    1940 The Earthly Paradise
    1941 The Captain from Connecticut
    1942 Poo-Poo and the Dragons
    1943 The Ship
    1948 The Sky and the Forest
    1951 Randall and the River of Time
    1955 The Good Shepherd

    1967 Long before Forty (autobiographical)