The Art-Music, Literature and Linguistics Forum
December 05, 2023, 07:21:21 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here you may discover hundreds of little-known composers, hear thousands of long-forgotten compositions, contribute your own rare recordings, and discuss the Arts, Literature and Linguistics in an erudite and decorous atmosphere full of freedom and delight.
  Home Help Search Gallery Staff List Login Register  

Joly Braga Santos - Suite de Danšas, Op. 63

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Joly Braga Santos - Suite de Danšas, Op. 63  (Read 45 times)
Level 8

Times thanked: 53
Offline Offline

Posts: 3383

View Profile
« on: September 21, 2022, 07:22:48 am »

Joly Braga Santos was born in Lisbon in 1924. He left us six grand symphonies:

no. 1, opus 8, in D major (1947)
no. 2, opus 13, in B minor (1948)
no. 3, opus 15, in C major (1949)
no. 4, opus 16, in E minor (1950), revised as choral symphony (1968)
no. 5 "Virtus lusitaniae", opus 39 (1966)
no. 6, opus 45, with soprano, chorus and orchestra (1972)

as well as two string quartets:

no. 1, opus 4 (1945)
no. 2, opus 27 (1958)

Listed among his works are:

Dance Suite (Suite de Danšas) for Piano, Viola, Oboe and Double Bass, opus 63 (1984)

but we also see:

Staccato Brilhante, opus 63, for orchestra (1988) - evidently not the same work.

so these two opera 63 need to be sorted out. It looks like the "Suite" of 1984/85 with its three movements is the one we are interested in, although it comprises only two actual dances:

1. Preludio
2. Sarabando
3. Tarantello

Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines
Privacy Policy